Top Banner
For Immediate Release


Eastern Star Chapter 124 Funds Foundation Scholarship


Catawba Valley Community College student Christopher Reynolds recently received a $500 scholarship from Catawba Chapter 124 of the Order of the Eastern Star through the CVCC Foundation, Inc. Mary C. Spencer, Worthy Matron of Chapter 124, recognized Reynolds at a ceremony held recently at the Masonic Lodge in Catawba, N.C.
The Order of the Eastern Star is the largest fraternal organization in the world to which both women and men may belong. Worldwide, there are approximately 1 million members under the General Grand Chapter. 
A graduate of Fred T. Foard High School, Reynolds is pursuing his college transfer degree at CVCC as part of the Homegrown Teaching Scholars program, an initiative designed to lure the best and the brightest from Catawba and Alexander counties into the education arena. 
Reynolds earned High Honors his first semester at CVCC, and he plans to transfer to Appalachian State University in the fall of 2012 and complete his teaching degree. He then hopes to serve in the Catawba County School System as a special education teacher. Reynolds is the son of Chris Reynolds and Kim Herman of Hickory.
The CVCC Foundation, Inc. is a nonprofit corporation with the mission to foster and promote the growth, progress, and general welfare of CVCC.  Teresa W. Biggs, CVCC Foundation Executive Director may be reached for additional information at 828-327-7000, extension 4288, or email  Dianne Little, Director of CVCC's Homegrown Teaching Scholars Program, may be reached at 828-327-7000, extension 4411, or email
Pictured (from left) are Teresa Biggs, CVCC Foundation Executive Director; Dianne Little, Homegrown Teaching Scholars Director; Mary C. Spencer, Catawba Chapter 124 of the Order of the Eastern Star Worthy Matron; Christopher Reynolds, scholarship recipient; and Phillip Spencer, Catawba Chapter 124 of the Order of the Eastern Star Worthy Patron.

2550 US HIGHWAY 70 SE • HICKORY, NC • 28602-8302 • 828.327.7000
Updated 10.30.2008: Administrator