Top Banner
For Immediate Release


Student Leadership Academy Graduates Honored

Catawba Valley Community College recently recognized the third annual Student Leadership Academy graduates.

Under the direction of Dr. Dianne Little, director of CVCC’s Phillips Leadership Institute, participants experienced more than 20 hours of intensive leadership training and contributed more than 50 hours of service to the college.  Graduates recently received certificates of completion at the conclusion of a Student Leadership Symposium.

This year’s Student Leadership Academy Fellows include Amanda Barringer, Newton; Katrina Deyton, Maiden; Sheila Dula, Hickory; James Glenn, Newton; April Harper, Conover; Dianna Hawkins, Hickory; Jill Hoerr, Statesville; Debbie Lawter, Iron Station; Shawndrea Patterson, Hickory; Judy Price, Hickory; Fabiola Sanchez, Conover; Lauren Simmons, Hickory; Ariana Soto, Newton; and Youa Xiong, Conover.  

Four individuals received awards in portfolio presentation. Hawkins received first place, Barringer received second place, Patterson and Simmons received third place, and Harper received honorable mention.

On CVCC’s Awards Day, four members of the Student Leadership Academy were recognized by their peers as outstanding future leaders based on their involvement in and contributions to the Academy.  “Future Leader” awards were presented to Patterson, Hoerr, Hawkins and Deyton.

Guest speakers for the symposium included Dr. Grace Mitchell, President of Vadec Resources in Charlotte, and Dr. Hampton Hopkins, Dean of Student Services at the Carolinas College of Health Sciences in Charlotte.  

Individuals serving on the Symposium’s leadership panel included Cassie Hardin, Career Specialist, AccuForce Staffing; Amy Bechtol, Executive Director, Professional Development and the Center for Teaching Excellence and Research, CVCC;  Cindy Coulter, Executive Officer, Student Services, CVCC; Sabina Hardy, Vice-President, Shareholders Relations, Catawba County Chamber of Commerce; Dr. Jane Everson, Consultant, Future Workforce Development Alliance Initiative, CVCC;  Teresa Biggs, CVCC Foundation Executive Director; Kelly Farr, Second Vice-President, Mountain 1st Bank and Trust; Dr. Linda Lutz, Student Engagement Executive Director, CVCC;  Gary Muller, Department Head, Business, Accounting, and Entrepreneurship, CVCC;  Steve Hunt, Executive Director, Office of Multicultural Affairs, CVCC; and Dr. Janet Painter, Professor of Education, Lenoir-Rhyne University.

Pictured above (front, from left) are Ariana Soto, Dr. Dianne Little (Director), Debbie Lawter, Jill Hoerr, Sheila Dula, Katrina Deyton, Youa Xiong, Amanda Barringer, (back) April Harper, Dianna Hawkins, Lauren Simmons, Fabiola Sanchez, Judy Price, James Glenn and Shawndrea Patterson.


2550 US HIGHWAY 70 SE • HICKORY, NC • 28602-8302 • 828.327.7000
Updated 10.30.2008: Administrator